Travel / Paris 2.0

As a little girl, I have once been to Paris before. I remember enjoying my stay but of course, Disneyland had the most impact on me. Besides seeing the Eiffel Tower, I can’t remember much of the city itself. So, time for a new trip!

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

Obviously I’ve seen several of many highlights of the city. As most people are familiar with the Eiffel Tower, the Arc the Triomphe, the Avenue des Champs-Élysée and The Louvre, I won’t deepen too much into these well-known, jet beautiful places. As everyone has something different to say, these are my highlight of the city of love.

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

The first evening we had dinner in this cozy tobacco shop slash café “Tabac de la Sorbonne“, just around the corner of our hotel, close to La Sorbonne. We were tired of walking around the city all day, and of course because of our early departure (04.30!) so we chose something simple and nearby to have dinner. Though, quite honestly we didn’t expect too much, we’ve had the best dinner of our stay in this little café. The French union soup was a true delight after being wet and cold from walking in the drizzle all day and both our salade and chicken where just right.

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

As there is a first for everything, it was my first time in the Louvre. I really enjoyed walking around the stunning building. Even if it would have been empty, I would have enjoyed it as well. We’d listened to the advise to take a whole day for the Louvre, so we were able to see everything we wanted.

To my honest surprise I was really interested in the ‘Dutch Painters’ room, as the atmosphere of the paintings just feel so familiar. Recognizing typical Dutch cities and costumes gave the idea of having been there before, though the paintings date from around the 17th century.

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

This is crazy and it bothers me more than it should!

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

We’d spent all day indoors, while outside the weather was so lovely! We were lucky to have the sun around all day. After visiting the Louvre, we had a little stroll through Les Tuileries, the garden in front of the Louvre, towards the Champs-Élysée.

The Champs-Élysée just wasn’t what I had expected, it was slightly disappointing as there were so many fast food chains and car dealer shops. On the other hand, the areas around Boulevard St. Germain, Place du Marche St Honoré and the Rue Saint Sulpice were full of nice and inspirational shops.

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

Look at this beautiful window decorations at Swarovski. Being a honeycomb freak, I would love to hang this in front of one of my windows, to catch the sunlight! Maybe?

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

You can’t visit France without trying one of these lovely little presents.

    

The Notre Dame has always been a real inspiration for architecture. It was a really nice place to visit, as I was a huge fan of Quasimodo in The Hunchback of the Notre-Dame. I could (and still) sing every song along him aloud and as a kid I loved the fact that he had the whole beautiful building to himself. Though, in my imagination it was way bigger, it is a truly inspiring building.

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle   Travel / Paris 2.0 - Pistols Republic - Interior & Lifestyle

I had such an amazing time in Paris!

Source: all pictures have been taken with my iPhone, hence the quality.
Geef een reactie

